#10908: 1975/11/8  2:10  35  110:6:0W  47:5:0N  3333  NAM USA MNT  7 10 
10MI SE/STANFORD,MT:SAC SITE C1:4 RDRS+VISUAL:SCR LITES OFF AS JETS APPROACH. 
Ref# 26 FAWCETT+GREENWOOD:  UFO COVERUP.     Page No. 31 MIL. BASE 

#10909: 1975/11/8  3:40  40  109:20:0W  46:50:0N  3333  NAM USA MNT  8 10 SE/HEATH,MT:SAC SITES K3+L4:RDR OBJs MNVR:TURN >W SLOW:TOO LO FOR JETS 
Ref# 26 FAWCETT+GREENWOOD:  UFO COVERUP.     Page No. 31 MIL. BASE 

F-106's SCRAMBLED  AFTER  UNKNOWNS
Malmstrom AFB, Montana
8 November 1975


7:45 P.M.
NORAD radar detected unknowns heading south-southwest at 1200 feet. Once again, two F-106s were scrambled. SAT teams at areas K-1, K-3, L-1, L-4, and L-6 reported visual sightings of objects at low altitudes. The SAT teams reported that, when the jets approached, the UFOs would turn off their lights and become invisible. Then, when the jets had gone, the UFOs would turn their lights back on. At 9:15 P.M., teams in four different locations could see both the F-106s and the UFOs. Again, at 9:35, area L-5 reported that the unknown rose rapidly until it could not be distinguished from the stars.

From the 24 NORAD Region Senior Director's Log:
8 NOV 75 (0635Z) - (7 NOV 75 2335 MST) - A security camper team at K-4 reported UFO with white lights, one red light 50 yards behind white light. Personnel at K-1 seeing same object.

8 NOV 75 (0645Z) - (7 NOV 75 2345 MST) - Height personnel picked up objects 10 - 13,000 feet, Track J330, EKLB 0648, 18 knots, 9,500 feet. Objects as many as seven, as few as two A/C.

8 NOV 75 (0745Z) - ( 0045 MST) - Conversation about the UFOs; Advised to go ahead and scramble; but be sure and brief pilots, FAA. Go easy and the pilots will not descend below 12,000 ft.

8 NOV 75 (0753Z) - ( 0053 MST) - J330 unknown 0753. Stationary/seven knots/12,000. One (varies to seven) object. None, no possibility, EKLB 3746, two F-106, GTF, SCR 0754. NCOC notified.

8 NOV 75 (0820Z) - (0120 MST) - Lost radar contact, fighters broken off at 0825, looking in area of J331 (another height finder contact).

8 NOV 75 (0850Z) - (0150 MST) - Directed ftrs to RTB (return to base).

8 NOV 75 (0905Z) - (0205 MST) - From SAC CP: L-sites had fighters and objects; fighters did not get down to objects.

8 NOV 75 (0915Z) - (0215 MST) - From SAC CP: From four different points: Observed objects and fighters; when fighters arrived in area, the lights went out; when fighters departed, the lights came back on; to NCOC.

8 NOV 75 (00953Z) - ( 0253 MST) - From SAC CP: L-5 reported object increased in speed - high velocity, raised in altitude and now cannot tell object from stars. To NCOC.

<>8 NOV 75 (1105Z) - (0405 MST) - From SAC CP: E-1 reported a bright white light (site is approximately 60 nautical miles north of Lewiston). NCOC notified.

Between August, 1975 and May, 1976, 130 reports of UFOs or unidentified helicopters were logged in the Great Falls, Montana area.

These reports were never explained.

(This web page produced for the NICAP site by Francis Ridge)

 NICAP Home Page
NCP Home Page