Date: Thu, 04 Feb 2010 15:03:16 -0500
From: Francis Ridge <nicap@insightbb.com>
Subject: Director's Log for Nov. 8, 1975; Malmstrom incidents of 8 Nov 1975
To: RADCAT

Page 6 of this document is transcribed below:


From the 24 NORAD Region Senior Director's Log:
8 NOV 75 (0635Z) - (7 NOV 75 2335 MST) - A security camper team at K-4 reported UFO with white lights, one red light 50 yards behind white light. Personnel at K-1 seeing same object.

8 NOV 75 (0645Z) - (7 NOV 75 2345 MST) - Height personnel picked up objects 10 - 13,000 feet, Track J330, EKLB 0648, 18 knots, 9,500 feet. Objects as many as seven, as few as two A/C.

8 NOV 75 (0745Z) - ( 0045 MST) - Conversation about the UFOs; Advised to go ahead and scramble; but be sure and brief pilots, FAA. Go easy and the pilots will not descend below 12,000 ft.

8 NOV 75 (0753Z) - ( 0053 MST) - J330 unknown 0753. Stationary/seven knots/12,000. One (varies to seven) object. None, no possibility, EKLB 3746, two F-106, GTF, SCR 0754. NCOC notified.

8 NOV 75 (0820Z) - (0120 MST) - Lost radar contact, fighters broken off at 0825, looking in area of J331 (another height finder contact).

8 NOV 75 (0850Z) - (0150 MST) - Directed ftrs to RTB (return to base).

8 NOV 75 (0905Z) - (0205 MST) - From SAC CP: L-sites had fighters and objects; fighters did not get down to objects.

8 NOV 75 (0915Z) - (0215 MST) - From SAC CP: From four different points: Observed objects and fighters; when fighters arrived in area, the lights went out; when fighters departed, the lights came back on; to NCOC.

8 NOV 75 (00953Z) - ( 0253 MST) - From SAC CP: L-5 reported object increased in speed - high velocity, raised in altitude and now cannot tell object from stars. To NCOC.

<>8 NOV 75 (1105Z) - (0405 MST) - From SAC CP: E-1 reported a bright white light (site is approximately 60 nautical miles north of Lewiston). NCOC notified.

Between August, 1975 and May, 1976, 130 reports of UFOs or unidentified helicopters were logged in the Great Falls, Montana area.

These reports were never explained.